Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Jessica tutors in New Haven, CT

Jessica W.

Private tutor in New Haven, CT

Jessica W.556

56 reviews

Education

Tufts University - BA, Child Development, French , Simmons School of Library and Information Science - MA, MS, Children's Literature, Library and Information Science

Experience

I have earned one bachelor's degree in French as well as one in Child Development from Tufts University. Now, I am attending Simmons School of Library and Information Science to earn two master's degrees--one in Children's Literature and one in Library and Information Science. While attending Tufts University, I worked at preschools around the Greater Boston area where I focused on teaching letters and reading, numbers, and properly developing social skills. After graduating from Tufts, I started to tutor high school students while obtaining my teaching license. Once I got my license to teach, I taught in both third and fourth grade classrooms. I am still very proud of my classes who achieved the best in-state scores on the year-end state testing throughout all of Massachusetts. For the past few years, I have also been designing English Language Arts (ELA) curriculum for schools in Connecticut and New York City. I tutor students in a wide range of subjects, including English, French, reading, writing, phonics, grammar and mechanics, vocabulary, literary analysis, public speaking, math study skills, and graduate test preparation. However, my passion lies with reading. Regardless of age, I feel it is of utmost importance to develop a love for reading to avoid feeling like it is a chore. In my free time, you can typically find me reading, cooking, running, or watching football and soccer.

Availability

Weekdays at any time, Weekends at any time

Can Meet

25 miles at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

I love reading, running, cooking, watching soccer and football, and being outdoors!

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!