Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Asha tutors in New Haven, CT

Asha K.

Private tutor in New Haven, CT

Education

Northern Illinois University - BA, French , Southern Illinois University Edwardsville - MA, TESOL

Experience

I've taught students from the kindergarten to university level for the past five years. In my sixth year of full-time teaching, I strive to help build academic reading and writing skills and tutor in vocabulary, grammar, speaking fluency, organization, technology, and research skills. I've taught ESL, which has helped me understand everyone learns differently. Flexible and open, I fine tune my teaching strategy based on the student. I taught and lived in France for two years, traveled extensively in Spain, and have explored a total of 13 countries. This taught me about the world and expanded my perspectives on how different people think and why. My personal style is easy-going and I constantly learn from my students.Critical thinking, problem solving, and independent learning are only obtained from a well-rounded education. What students learn must be related to their real life. Teaching requires working with what they know and building on that. As an undergraduate, I studied French at Northern Illinois University, while at Southern Illinois University I obtained a master's in Teaching English as a Second or Other Language and Applied Linguistics. Other than language and teaching, my other passions include painting, yoga, traveling, nonfiction, jogging, biking, and trying new foods.

Availability

Weekdays at any time, Weekends at any time

Can Meet

Up to 30 minutes away at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

I enjoy painting, yoga, meditation, tasting new foods, traveling, reading non-fiction, bike riding, and jogging.

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!